How I use carb timing to boost my health

Growing up, we always had a bag of chocolate chips in the kitchen. Every night before bed, I would reach into the bag, take two big handfuls, and eat them. It’s a modern miracle I didn’t turn into a chocolate chip by the time I left for college.

I wish I knew then what I know now: my chocolate chip snack wasn’t unhealthy just because of what I was eating but also when I was eating it.

Carbs and sugar are a part of most of our lives. It’s true that moderating them is important (we’ll talk all about keto in another newsletter). But, did you know that using carb timing is also a powerful way to improve your health?

Read on to learn how to make this hack work for you.

Our ability to process carbs and maintain healthy blood sugar is highest in the morning and lowest at night. This makes sense when you think about the body’s internal clock, which is designed for us to consume food when we’re awake but not when we’re asleep

In addition, lack of movement when we’re asleep causes high blood sugar to stay high longer and then be converted into fat. Eating a big meal and then sleeping is an actual strategy sumo wrestlers use to gain weight. (As a child spending summers in Japan I dreamed of being a champion sumo but that is no longer a goal of mine.)

The life of an aspiring sumo wrestler

The takeaway:

Decreased carb tolerance plus lack of movement means a meal or snack that might have been reasonable during the day is much more likely to trigger a blood sugar roller-coaster when eaten in the evening.

What’s the harm?

In the research, eating carbs before bed has been linked to disrupted sleep, weight gain, inflammation, elevated levels of the stress hormone cortisol, and high blood sugar during the night and the next day.

Minimize carbs in the evening when your body is most vulnerable

Try to eat high-carb foods early in the day (if at all). Focus on protein, healthy fats, and fiber (primarily from vegetables) to keep your blood sugar stable and reduce cravings in the evening.

Here’s how I stay low-carb when I want an evening snack:

High-carb snacks

My swaps

Flavored yogurt & ice cream

Plain greek yogurt or coconut yogurt with monk fruit

Smoothie with frozen berries or peanut butter (use your favorite non-sugar protein powder)

Dried fruit & high-sugar fruits like grapes, bananas, mangoes

Fresh or frozen berries

Half an apple with peanut butter or almond butter

Desserts

Keto Brownies and Keto Peanut Butter Cookies

Keto Cups (healthier Reese’s)

Energy & protein bars

Roasted nuts (like these cashews)

String cheese

Chips & pretzels

Low-carb crackers (like these or these)

Seaweed Snacks

Base Culture toast with olive oil or avocado

Hummus & veggie sticks

Cereal & granola

Roasted nuts & seeds

DIY Keto granola (like this recipe)

*I avoid packaged “keto” cereals; they tend to be highly processed and often spike my blood sugar

Chocolate chips

80%+ dark chocolate, cacao nibs, meditation (just kidding)

Here’s to a week of good snacks and great timing,

Dr. Kelley-Chew
@drkelleychew

I’m a Stanford and Penn-trained MD and health tech founder with over a decade working on health optimization in Silicon Valley. Biohacking for the Rest of Us is my answer to medical elitism – I want all people to have access to cutting-edge science that can dramatically improve their health.

If you’re new, please mark this email as “not spam” so it doesn’t skip your inbox.

If you know someone who might appreciate our little health revolution (or just enjoys a good read over kale), please share.